Anticipating Worship – Ps.84

Sunday morning rolls around, the alarm clock buzzes irritatingly, and it’s time to rise and prepare for another day of worship with family & friends.  What is your state of mind?  (once the cobwebs clear…and maybe after that first cup of coffee?)  Are you beginning to prepare your heart for the worship that lies ahead?  Are you eager to join with others in praise & worship of our God?  Are there other places you’d rather be?  Perhaps the daily duties of family, children and a myriad of other things are clouding out the necessary preparation for passionate worship.

Psalm 84 reveals an individual who is passionate in worship.  His soul is longing and yearning for this time of interaction with his God.  His heart & flesh are intertwined so that the entirety of his being is singing for joy to the living God!

In order for me to say, along with the Psalmist, that one day is better in the courts of God than a thousand elsewhere, I must recognize the “formula” for retaining passionate worship…as found in verse 11:

The Lord God is a sun and a shield; the Lord gives grace and glory; No good thing does He withhold from those who walk uprightly.

1. Recognize that God is a Provider(“sun”) – just as the sun in our solar system provides the necessary light to navigate by, and the nutrients for life to be sustained and grow, so too our God provides direction and growth in our own lives.  He is worthy of worship!

2. Recognize that God is a Protector(“shield”) – the Lord watches over His own, protecting them, becoming their refuge.  Nothing touches us apart from the sovereign hand of the Lord directing it to our life.  He is worthy of worship!

3. Recognize that the Lord gives grace(grace) – I like to define grace as the receiving of something that I do not deserve.  Salvation would top that list.  Restoration and Reconciliation are runners up.  God is a gracious God and worthy of worship!

4. Recognize that the Lord gives glory(glory) – I am not to seek my own glory, and if I receive any in this life, it must be directed back to the Lord that has blessed me beyond all measure.  As I submit myself under the mighty hand of God, He will exalt me at the proper time (1 Peter 5)  He alone is worthy of worship!

5. Recognize that the Lord gives good things(good) – Every good thing comes from our Father (James 1), and even when I don’t recognize His goodness, He continues to bless beyond my comprehension.  He is worthy of worship.

As I focus on these things, my heart lifts in worship of God and as I trust Him I am blessed.  I encourage you to read Psalm 84 and allow it to shape and focus your worship.  May God prepare our hearts throughout the week in personal worship so that, as we gather corporately on Sunday, it spills out in glorious praise to the One who alone is worthy of worship.

Leave a Reply

