Another Scandalous Quote – Carson

you may read my first quote from D.A. Carson‘s Scandalous, here.

Those who exercise any authority at any level in the kingdom in which Jesus is king must serve the same way – not with implicit demands of self-promotion, confidence in their right to rule, or a desire to sit at Jesus’ right hand or his left hand, but with a passion to serve.

It is imperative for pastors, lay leaders, parents, etc to lead in servant leadership as demonstrated by our Savior. How strong the battle is to promote self in each and every one of these areas. I, want to be the “lead pastor”; I, want to be the “leader in charge”; I, want to be the parent / “the boss” of my children, etc.

As I think of our church in this time of leadership transition, I beg God that He would allow us the grace to be servant leaders! We should not have any confidence in and of ourselves! We are but frail, sinful, dare I say EVIL, people – through the grace of God we are allowed the privilege to serve one another. My prayer for CBC is that we desire to please God (2 Cor 5:9), give Him the glory due His Name (Isa 43:7) and prefer one another over self (Rom.12:10). Let us be passionate servant leaders!

Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor

2 thoughts on “Another Scandalous Quote – Carson

Leave a Reply

