Redeemed! How I Love to Proclaim it!

Here is a favorite old hymn of mine written by Fanny Crosby: Redeemed, How I Love to Proclaim it!

Redeemed, how I love to proclaim it!
Redeemed by the blood of the Lamb;
Redeemed through His infinite mercy,
His child and forever I am.

Redeemed, redeemed,
Redeemed by the blood of the Lamb;
Redeemed, redeemed,
His child and forever I am.

Redeemed, and so happy in Jesus,
No language my rapture can tell;
I know that the light of His presence
With me doth continually dwell.

Refrain

I think of my blessèd Redeemer,
I think of Him all the day long:
I sing, for I cannot be silent;
His love is the theme of my song.

Refrain

I know there’s a crown that is waiting,
In yonder bright mansion for me,
And soon, with the spirits made perfect,
At home with the Lord I shall be.

Refrain

My favorite part of the song is the last which focuses on the eternal hope we have as believers.  “At home with the Lord I shall be”… I catch myself fantasizing about what that will be like, and long for the day when dreams are turned to reality!

Now, in all honesty, the chorus of this particular song was one I had a lot of fun with as a kid.  Our songleaders used to really slide up and down on the notes and hold them out forever…making it easy to poke fun at.  But what a truth this song proclaims!

Question: What is your favorite Fanny Crosby Hymn?

Leave a Reply

