Will You Be My Facebook Friend: A Book Review

facebookfriendbook

Will You Be My Facebook Friend? Social Media and the Gospel

I received this complimentary copy of the booklet, Will You Be My Facebook Friend, via Cross Focused Media. The booklet is less than 50 pages long and is easily read in one sitting. Tim Chester is the author of this booklet.

About the Author:

Tim Chester is the pastor of The Crowded House in Sheffield, UK. He is also the founder and director of Porterbrook Seminary, and author of over 20 books. You may read his blog here.

Review:

Chester breaks this booklet down into four easily digested chapters:

  • What’s the problem?
  • Recreating my world
  • Escaping my limitations
  • The facebook of God

Each chapter concisely and adequately covers its topic. Tim begins with many of the statistics of how social media’s prevalence and provides both dangers and benefits to its existence. He builds on these dangers over chapters two and three, and then provides what a proper focus should be concerning facebook (and other social media) and the Gospel.

Tim uses obvious grace when pointing out the dangers of becoming consumed with social media, yet speaks clearly about the reality of being deceived into creating a little kingdom for myself. I appreciated the balance. I found the third chapter, Escaping my limitations, to be a bit befuddling at first. Chester’s main point of the chapter, from what I understand, is that facebook and other social media sites, tend to pull us from real, physical community and deceives us into thinking we are experiencing community when we’re online. This is a great point, but I struggled to comprehend what he was saying at times. (This may be just a poor reflection on my reading comprehension…which may mean that I’m really skimming the material? That statement would be humorous if you’ve read the book)

The most practical and rewarding part of the book was the Twelve Guidelines for Social Media. Tim provides very practical, and Christ-like, application to what he has written. This is crucial to keep the reader from just self-righteous, legalistic impositions on their facebook usage. Tim allows the freedom found in the Gospel of Jesus Christ to seep through every page of the booklet and more so in these guidelines. The book is worth the purchase price if only for this list.

Recommendation

I would recommend this booklet wholeheartedly. In fact, I would highly suggest that parents use it as a resource to discuss how the Gospel and facebook fit together. This is something easily digested and is practical in it’s material. I think it would be a great resource for youth groups, schools, and church libraries.

A Blessing:

    The LORD bless you and keep you;
the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you;
the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.
(Numbers 6:24-26 ESV)

Leave a Reply

