Learning to Love: an excerpt

precipice

After arriving back in the States from our recent trip to Southeast Asia, I began sorting through the stacks of mail on our kitchen counter. In one package was a book entitled Learning to Love: Passion, Compassion and the Essence of the Gospel. I’ve just started reading it, and came across this passage that I would like to share with you:

Loving God with all your heart, mind, soul and strength will take you to the end of yourself and you will find yourself looking out over a precipice. You know you are in the place God wants you when only He can keep you from falling.

Only faith working through love counts. Let’s never leave behind the simplicity and purity of devotion to Jesus. All we can know when the pressure becomes great is Jesus and Him crucified. We exist by the power of the cross, safe and secure there. From our position at the foot of the cross we warn and persuade to the limit of our ability the multitudes that pass by. Those who turn and follow us into the heart of Jesus will be our joy forever.

I have been meditating on a passage in 1 Chronicles 28. God is really using it to confirm some of the things my family and I will be doing in the near future. And, interestingly enough, our love for Him, and those whom He loves, will put us exactly in a place where only He can keep us from falling. I desperately want a faith that feels “alive”. I won’t settle for mediocrity. I think I am finally understanding the depth of knowing that in my surrender to Jesus, I lose nothing but gain everything.

Leave a Reply

