Warrior Advent

JKLHA

I was reading in the Psalms this morning – just browsing, not “studying”. Psalm 46 is a familiar and significant passage for me. It has a depth of meaning that I enjoy immersing in from time to time. This morning, however, I was struck by the very last verse in this passage:

The LORD of heaven’s armies is here among us; the God of Israel is our fortress.

I have never pictured the Christ in his advent as a warrior. Rather, I have always pictured him as a delicate babe, wholly dependent on others. And he was. But in those rags lay swaddled a Warrior King. One who, shrouded in flesh like mine, became my sin and battled death in my place. Motivated by love, he conquered all the evil that I have embraced. He brought Peace to me. And when he finished writing his name on my heart, he promised never to leave me or forsake me, becoming the fortress in which I now reside.

Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

